Hello,
We have a situation where several of our RDM users are admins and sometimes when they login and they get the popup that tells them their version of RDM is outside the allowed range, they will just click "automatically reconfigure" to let it reconfigure to allow their version. So then, of course, when other people sign in with the version that was originally allowed, then they get the same message, and click auto reconfigure, and so on. Because they are admins, it allows this change.
We have already reminded our users several times that when they see this message it means they need to upgrade, rather than just click "auto reconfigure". However, I'm wondering if there is some way we can restrict who can change the versioning settings? Would we have to fully remove their admin rights in order to prevent them from changing it, or is there some way we can granularly restrict people from changing that particular setting?
Best regards,
David Willis
Hello David,
To make it short, at the moment, the only solutions would be either for your users not to have admin rights, or for these administrators to be educated on what this actually changes for non-admin users.
We're currently working on splitting up the admin permissions over multiple different permissions, regrouped into roles. The goal here is to be more granular with what features are allowed for users, rather than going with an "all or nothing" approach of admin vs non-admin. We're planning to release our first user-facing version with these changes this autumn with version 2026.3. We've actually started reworking our backend in version 2026.1 and 2026.2 to allow for these changes to go over smoother in 2026.3.
One thing to note, the system settings themselves will not yet be split up into different permissions with roles associated. We're noting your feedback regarding this and it would be the next step into this splitting of permissions.
I hope this answers your question.
Regards,
Hubert Mireault