Show pop-up warning when server is already in use by other user

Show pop-up warning when server is already in use by other user

0 vote

avatar

Implement a user-friendly pop-up warning when a server is accessed by another user through RDP. Provide options for the new user to either terminate the existing session or contact the active user before proceeding. This app's check-in/check-out feature is not what we need.

2023-06-29_15-29-23.jpg

All Comments (4)

avatar

Hello Stefan,

Thank you for getting in touch with us regarding this issue.

We have another solution that would help you out with this problem. You can activate an option that would alert you if another user is already connected to this session. To do this, simply select your entry, go to Properties, then Logs, and check the Warn if already opened option.



Please keep in mind that this feature won't work if you have two different entries that are set with the same host.

Best regards,

Patrick Ouimet

rdp.png

avatar

For any future persons seeing this post.

We enabled this but couldn't understand why it didn't work for non admin users. We found out that users needs permissions to the Activity Logs under System permissions (Miscellaneous)

This doesn't seem to be documented anywhere, so if any from Devolutions sees this post please add this to your documentation or link to it :P

As of writing we are running Devolutions Server 2026.16.0.

avatar

Also this option cannot be configured to be inherited in the settings, we'd love an option to be able to configure this on our top level to get it enabled on everything :)

avatar

Hello,

Thank you for reporting this. I was able to reproduce the issue: the Warn if already opened option does not work for users who do not have permission to view the Activity Logs.

We will create a bug report for our development team to investigate this behavior. We will keep you updated here when we have more information.

Best regards,

Carl Marien