0 vote
Hi,
first of all thanks for the great automatic Check In/Check Out feature.
We use this function to mark VMs that are used as Jump Hosts as "in use". This works very well. I have been told by our support staff that the following feature would make it even more convenient:
A session should be checked out as long as a staff member is connected.
The following scenario:
- Person A is on a VM, the VM is checked out automatically
- Person B checks the entry in and connects to the VM, thereby it is locked for B
- Person B leaves VM
- Person A is still on it, but the entry is no longer checked out
- Person C connects to the VM even though person A is working on it
If you need any further information, just let me know.
Best regards
Hello,
Thank you for contacting us on that matter!
Would it be possible that your user B was an administrator and "forced" checked-in the VM?
Also, which version of RDM and what type of Data Source are you currently using?
Best regards,
James Lafleur
Forcecheckin.png
Hello,
yes we allowed to users to force the check in.
Datasource: MySQL
RDM: 2019.2.22.0 Enterprise
Best Regards
Hello,
In that case, I suspect that this is the reason why you experienced this issue.
We recommend to only allow administrators to force check-in entries.
Best regards,
James Lafleur
Hello,
In the properties of your entries, it is possible to activate the setting "Warn if already opened". Would that be a possible solution to your problem?
When this setting is activated and a user tries to open an entry currently in use by another user, he will be prompted for confirmation before being able to continue and establish his connection to the entry.
More information on this setting can be found on our help page in the section "Entries -> Common Settings -> Logs" : https://help.remotedesktopmanager.com/index.html
Regards,
Michaël Beaudin
WarnIfAlreadyOpened.png
Hi,
thank you for the suggestion. We tried to use this feature but since the sessions (vmware remote console connections) are opened in external mode, we could not use it...
We use the checkout feature to mark available vms/vms in use (see screenshot attached).
That works very well, except for the mentioned scenario:
- Person A is on a VM, the VM is checked out automatically
- Person B checks the entry in and connects to the VM, thereby it is locked for B
- Person B leaves VM
- Person A is still on it, but the entry is no longer checked out
- Person C connects to the VM even though person A is working on it
What would help us:
- VM is automatically checked out for A again
Best Regards
vms.png
Hello,
Would a system setting "Check out validation" or "Open checked out entry" containing the values "Restricted" and "Prompt" be alright with you?
The restricted mode would act the same as the current implementation and the prompt mode would allow all your users to open checked out sessions after answering "Yes" or "No" to a confirmation prompt. Answering "Yes" to the confirmation prompt would not check in Person A's initial check out but would still allow you to connect to your session.
Regards,
Michaël Beaudin
Hello,
thank you very much for your fast feedback.
The idea sounds great. Just to check if I understood i correctly:
Currently and in future with "Check out validation" set to restricted:
- Person A is on a VM, the VM is checked out automatically
- Person B checks the entry in and connects to the VM, thereby it is locked for B
- Person B leaves VM
- Person A is still on it, but the entry is no longer checked out
- Person C connects to the VM even though person A is working on it
In future with "Check out validation" set to prompt:
- Person A is on a VM, the VM is checked out automatically
- Person B can connect to the VM by confirming the prompt
- Person B leaves VM
- Entry is still checked out for A
Best Regards
Hello,
Indeed that is the behavior we would go for with this new setting. I will add it to our TODO list.
Regards,
Michaël Beaudin
Hello,
Since we have recently received more feedback about this issue again, I wanted to ask if this feature has been implemented?
The issue is as follows:
Person A is on a VM, the VM is checked out automatically
- Person B checks the entry in and connects to the VM, thereby it is locked for B
- Person B leaves VM
- Person A is still on it, but the entry is no longer checked out
- Person C connects to the VM even though person A is working on it
What would help us:
- VM is automatically checked out for A again
Best regards
Hello,
It's not implemented yet, since we haven't had other requests for this we haven't prioritized it.
We will consider it for a future roadmap as this is something that comes up regularly for your team from what I understand.
Regards,
Hubert Mireault