I remember I asked via live chat one time how to do this, but forgot :(
What is the way to have a specific user configure their installation of RDM to launch entries always undocked by default?
Hello hazen,
it should be this one:
File => Options => User Interface => Navigation Pane => Default connect action => Undocked
Regards,
Min