Google Authenticator config isn't saved

Google Authenticator config isn't saved

avatar
UdoJ
Disabled

Hi there

I activated "Force application security with Google Authenticator" in the Data Source Settings under Security, but it do not save my configuration so every time I start RDM I'm asked to configure GA.

Any hint?

In the "Options" I can configure GA also under the "2-Factor Authentication" settings in Security. What is the difference?

My target is to set GA as a must for all users starting RDM.

Thanks
Udo

All Comments (4)

avatar

Hello,

What type of data source are you using?

What version of RDM are you running?

Best regards,

Jeff Dagenais

avatar

SQL 2012


Capture.PNG

avatar

Hello,


It's possible to configure a 2FA at the application level and/or at the data source level.

If you enable Google Authenticator in File -> Options -> Security, this is at the application level.

If you want to configure it at the data source level, you need to follow the steps below:







After, it would be possible to enable the Force data source 2-factor configuration option in Administration -> Data Source Settings -> Security. With this option enable, all your users would need to configure a 2FA in File -> Data Sources manually to access the data source. It's possible to enable the 2FA of there choice (http://help.remotedesktopmanager.com/2-factor_authentication.htm). You cannot force them to use a specific 2FA with an SQL data source.


The configuration of the 2FA is saved in your RemoteDesktopManager.cfg file (http://help.remotedesktopmanager.com/installation_configurationfilelocation.htm). By default, this file is located in %localappdata%\Devolutions\RemoteDesktopManager. To be sure that you access the proper folder for your configuration file, please go in File -> Options -> Advanced and click on the blue hyperlink in the information section.

Validate that you have enough rights to save in the folder where the configuration file is located.

If you have the appropriate rights and that you still not able to save the 2FA in your configuration file, you can try to delete it so that RDM can create a new one. However, please note that if you delete this file, you will lost all your data source configuration, your license key, ect...

Best regards,

Jeff Dagenais

avatar

Thank you, Jean-Francois, for clarifying this!