User notice when recording is configured

User notice when recording is configured

1 vote

avatar

If not possible already today and I've missed something, would it be possible to add a feature so that the user is prompted with a custom prompt for session recording? Maybe something designwise similar to the prompt you get for PAM checkout. I'd like to inform my users that they're starting a session that is recorded and that if they disagree with this, close the session.
Thanks.

All Comments (4)

avatar

Hello,

Could you give us more information on the environment you're working in? For example, are you using Devolutions Server as your workspace, with RDM as the client application? I think the feature is very interesting, but knowing more about how you currently use our products would help guide the potential solution we come up with.

If you're using RDM, I know of a potential workaround as well. In your entries that you want to have a warning message, you could configure the "before connection" event to prompt a message:
From there, users opening this entry will be prompted with this message, and are able to either proceed or cancel.

Let me know what you think.

Regards,

Hubert Mireault

cf49b04a-261a-4f1a-947b-05cac190e887.png

avatar

Hi Hubert, thank you for your response.
We're predominantly using Devolutions Launcher for external vendors and those internally that only access a couple of servers. Some of us are using Remote Desktop Manager tho, but the solution would have to be something that users can't modify themselves...even users with write access to the vault I need to restrict from removing the message.

If I can configure something in the backend or even on a vault level, that would be nice, but it has to work with Launcher as it is our go-to tool.

It's a legal thing basically - Users have to be informed that their session is recorded so they can decide if they wish to proceed or simply not proceed with their session.

avatar

Thank you for the additional info.

What I suggested for RDM also works perfectly for Launcher, so you could see about trying out this setting in the short term for your Launcher user, as they wouldn't be able to modify this setting. Of course it doesn't help for RDM users that have edit access on the entries and could remove this.

I understand the legal aspect of it and it makes sense. I think adding a setting at the system settings level (which only administrators or users that have the appropriate role can modify) would work well here. I've opened a ticket and I'll see if we can squeeze it into our next major version development cycle.

Regards,

Hubert Mireault

avatar

I'll keep the workaround in mind, it's definitely something we can use in other regards.
Thank you for opening a ticket, looking forward to the feature.