0 vote
When moving entries between vaults, if the folder exists in the destination it creates a new folder with (2) on the end. This is annoying because then you have to drag all the entries up. Can you please add an option so when moving to another vault, if the folder structure exists, just prompt and say would you like to merge or create separate.
Hello,
Just to be sure that we are looking at the right place, are you using RDM to do the move ? Or the web interface of Devolutions Server ?
Best regards,
François Dubois
I've actually used both, and the same behaviour occurs regardless of whether you use RDM or DVLS
As an example, if I have this:
And then I move "Connection 2" to another vault, and then after that decide I also want to move "Connection 1" to the other vault as well, it does this instead of merging them together.

I can understand the reasoning for this, but it would be good when you went to move Connection 1, you were prompted and it said "Folder structure already exists in the destination vault. Would you like to move the connection in to the existing structure or create a new structure"
1badc3a3-44eb-425d-a419-ec1f05f67f98.png
5f246e66-f8db-477b-8449-226bc37faede.png
7da74006-9c7d-4240-a24e-b5eb482651cc.png
Hello,
What is your Devolutions Server version ? I can't replicate that issue with the web interface, here is what I got : 
We could improve that process for sure to ask you if you want to merge connection2 to the folder AAA/BBB, but before creating a ticket, I wanted to be sure that I understand your issue.
Best regards,
François Dubois
a79cf2de-3caa-4a5d-9461-9664401020aa.png
Strangely, I received a different outcome this time (although previously I was moving several folders, this time just one entry).
If using Web UI, I successfully moved connection 1 and connection 2 to another vault and it merged them together (the opposite to what occurs in RDM). Then when moving them back, the first connection moved fine but the second came up with the same issue you received.
I've sent a video through to support attention to yourself (not posting here as it contains sensitive information)
But, yes, if it prompts to either merge or duplicate that would be good. And really, what happens in RDMS should be the same as what happens in the web UI - they shouldn't be different.
Hello,
Thank you, I received your video. I can't reproduce exactly the same thing, but I will ask our QA team to see if they have already seen something similar to that. And we will create tickets in our backlog to fix/improve that. We will post back here once we have an update.
Best regards,
François Dubois