Forum / Remote Desktop Manager - Support

Can you create bulk Beyond Trust connections?

• Create an Issue
  • Cancel

So, most of our environment is now under the Beyond Trust Password Safe environment and in using the BT Password Safe console, if you search for servers you see a list and you can click the "plus" icon to basically add the server into the tree list on the left but you cannot highlight multiple servers to add in bulk. But I was wondering if there was a way on the backend to import multiple servers through something like an XML file. I briefly exported one to look at it and there were items in there I'm not familiar with as I'm not really good with modifying XML files. Has anyone tried it or can the Devs confirm that this can be done?

PXM Console.png
Clock3 mths

Hello Brian,

For the XML import, do you mean you have an XML from BeyondTrust that you'd like to import in RDM?

As for the multi-select creation, this is a really interesting feature and we'll add it to our todo list. smile

Regards,

Hubert Mireault

signaturesignature

Clock3 mths

Hi Hubert,

I have approximately 700-800 servers to import now that our company has moved over to BeyondTrust. I was looking for a bulk way to import them all rather than adding one at a time. Ideally, if we had the ability to select all, or groups of servers from the BeyondTrust Console it would make it easier, however, I can't do that now and I'm not sure if that is possible. I was looking at my XML export of the current servers and wondered if I could just replace each server name with a different server and import it that way if that would work. Problem is, I don't know the formatting of XML and the import into RDM well enough to know that not only will it import cleanly but actually work.

I'm looking at an XML export right now and I see some things that may prevent me from using XML to import all of these connections: