Forum / Remote Desktop Manager - Feature Request

Security Groups Enhancement

• Create an Issue
  • Cancel

First of all, I love the ability to assign folders to security groups. It makes it easy to secure the folders for specific users. However, there is an issue with assigning security groups to a main folder in that I don't always want it to propagate down to the subfolders. Just to give a little background, I work in a lab where we support remote training and students access our equipment remotely. We provide connections to all of the equipment through RDM. I have switched over to a SQL database that all training solutions will have access to. So, for one of our solutions, we have a main folder for the training solution itself with subfolders for the instructor and the student stations. I wanted the instructor to have access to all folders and the students only have access to their folder. However, if I don't assign the main folder to a security group, all other training solutions will see that folder, which is not very good. I can't assign the main folder to a security group without the permissions propagating down to the subfolders, so as a work around, I had to remove the main folder and rename the subfolders with a unique identifier to make things cleaner for the students and instructors. However, now I will have a big cumbersome list of folders in the database. Could we have a way to group these folders so that they can be collapsed without the use of the main folder, or can you make a modification that provides a choice of whether or not to propagate permissions from the main folder?

Clock4 yrs

Hi,
We already have a todo to change the way the right are inherited. I will see what I can do for the next major release. Sometime we use the shortcut to have a session in multiple folders.

David Hervieux

signaturesignature

Clock4 yrs