Forum / Remote Desktop Manager - Feature Request

Request for better ssh client integration/add on

• Create an Issue
  • Cancel

What ssh/terminal client do you recommend for use with RDM?

I have been using RDM for a couple years now in conjunction with SecureCRT/FX as my terminal client. I really like RDM but I have never been happy with the level of integration with RDM and SecureCRT so in the past I have just worked around it. I use SecureCRT both as a VPN (with SSH Port Tunneling) and as a terminal shell client. In RDM the current SecureCRT addon does nothing more than launch the SecureCRT application, I have never even been able to get it to use a tab inside of RDM and again I have just worked around it by having all SSH clients in SecureCRT and everything else in RDM. I have asked about the status of this addon in the past and was always told that you were planning on coming back to it and developing more but if I remember correctly the securecrt "api" or cli didnt allow you to do much more than what was already implemented.

I have tried the integrated "SSH Shell" option and I have a show stopper of an issue using this as my alternative, I connect to many nix servers that use two factor RSA secureid authentication. The SSH Shell is unable to log into these servers. It uses my name and password fine but always errors when the server requests my RSA passcode. I have also tried the Putty integration. Personally I think putty is pretty terrible as a ssh client but "good enough" in a pinch. The show stopper issue I run into with using putty and RDM is putty has a hard limit on how many SSH tunnels it can utilize over a single connection. After I give it about 25 tunnels its buffer fills up and will not allow me to add any more. Kitty shares this same bug.